List Of G20 Summits, Countries, Members, Hosts & Venue

G20 Summits

On December 1, 2022, India took over the G20 presidency from Indonesia and will hold the position for a year. This is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for India to contribute to the global agenda on pressing international issues. Recently, G20 summits have begun to focus not only on macroeconomics and trade but also on a wide range of global issues that have a significant impact on the global economy, as globalisation has progressed and various issues have become more intricately intertwined. These issues included overall development, climate change and energy, health, counter-terrorism, migration and refugees, and so on. Through its contributions to resolving these global issues, the G20 has sought to realise an inclusive and sustainable world.

The first G20 Summit took place in Washington, DC in 2008. G20 Summits are an important topic for competitive exams. G20 Summit questions are asked in the general awareness section of these exams. Candidates preparing for upcoming government exams such as SSC, RRB, and Bank must stay up to date on G20 summits because general awareness is a critical component of the syllabus for the majority of these exams. UPSC IAS aspirants should also carefully read the topic of the G20 summit List, as questions based on it may be asked in the UPSC Prelims.

What is a G20 Summit?

The G20 summit, which was established in 1999, is the premier forum for international cooperation on the most important issues on the international economic and financial agenda. It brings the world’s major advanced and emerging economies together. The G20 is a forum of the world’s largest economies founded in 1999. The group consists of 19 countries as well as the European Union. The first G20 Summit took place in Washington, DC in 2008.

List of G20 Summits From 2008 to 2023

In November 2020, the G20 Summit 2020  was held in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. It was the 15th G20 summit, which took place on November 21st and 22nd, 2020. It was presided over by Saudi King Salman bin Abdulaziz. PM Narendra Modi leads the Indian delegation to the 15th G20 summit.

Here is the List of G20 Summits that occurred between 2008 and 2023; candidates will also find the G20 Summits’ hosts, venues, and dates on the list.

List of G20 Summits
G-20 SummitsDatesG20 Host CountriesVenue & Host CityHost leader
1stNovember 14th-15th, 2008United StatesNational Building Museum, Washington, D.CGeorge W. Bush
2ndApril 2nd, 2009United KingdomExCeL London, LondonGordon Brown
3rdSeptember 2th -25th, 2009United StatesDavid L. Lawrence Convention Center, PittsburghBarack Obama
4thJune 26th-27th 2010CanadaMetro Toronto Convention Centre, TorontoStephen Harper
5thNovember 11th–12th 2010South KoreaCOEX Convention & Exhibition Center, SeoulLee Myung-bak
6thNovember 3rd–4th, 2011FrancePalais des Festivals, CannesNicolas Sarkozy
7thJune 18th–19th, 2012MexicoLos Cabos Convention Center, San José del Cabo, Los CabosFelipe Calderón
8thSeptember 5th–6th, 2013RussiaConstantine Palace, Saint PetersburgVladimir Putin
9thNovember 15th–16th,  2014AustraliaBrisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre, BrisbaneTony Abbott
10thNovember 15th–16th,2015TurkeyRegnum Carya Hotel Convention Centre, Serik, AntalyaRecep Tayyip Erdoğan
11thSeptember 4th–5th 2016ChinaHangzhou International Exhibition Centre, HangzhouXi Jinping
12thJuly 7th–8th 2017GermanyHamburg Messe, HamburgAngela Merkel
13thNovember 30th – December 1st 2018ArgentinaCosta Salguero Center, Buenos AiresMauricio Macri
14thJune 28th- 29th, 2019JapanIntex Osaka, OsakaShinzō Abe
15thNovember 21st–22nd 2020Saudi ArabiaKing Abdullah Financial District, RiyadhSalman
16thOctober 30th-31st 2021ItalyRomeGiuseppe Conte
17thNovember 15 -16, 2022IndonesiaThe Apurva Kempinski, BaliJoko Widodo
18thSeptember 9 – 10, 2023IndiaPragati Maidan Convention Centre, New DelhiNarendra Modi
19th2024 [Date to be announced]BrazilLuiz Inácio Lula da Silva

G20 Summit 2023

India took over the G20 Presidency from Indonesia. From December 1, 2022, to November 30, 2023, India presides over the G20. The 43 Heads of Delegation, the most ever in the G20, will attend the final New Delhi Summit in September 2023

The theme of the 2023 Indian G-20 Presidency, ‘One Earth, One Family, One Future,’ sets the tone for the 2023 Infrastructure Agenda.

List of G20 Countries

The G-20, or the Group of Twenty, is named after the number of members. It is worth noting that G20 members account for approximately 85% of global GDP, 75% of global trade, and two-thirds of the world’s population. The following is the list of G20 countries:

G20 Member Countries
Republic of KoreaRepublic of South Africa
RussiaSaudi Arabia
TurkeyUnited Kingdom
United States of AmericaEuropean Union (EU)

Sharing is caring!


Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!
download gms learning free app now