List of Countries and their Parliament Name for General Awareness

Countries and their Parliament List

The Althing is the world’s oldest surviving parliament. It is Iceland’s parliament, which was founded in 930 and still exists today. The Countries and their Parliament List is an important topic for competitive exams. Aspirants for various government exams should keep up to date with the list of countries and their legislatures provided in the article, as they may encounter questions about it in the General awareness sections.

In the prelims, UPSC aspirants may be asked questions about countries and their legislatures. We have compiled a list of countries and their legislatures in this article below.

What is Parliament?

A parliament is a governmental legislative body that represents the electorate, makes laws, and oversees the government through hearings and inquiries. The term Parliament is Anglo-Norman in origin and dates back to the 14th century. A legislature is divided into two chambers: Unicameral and Bicameral. India’s legislature is divided into two houses, the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha.

List of Countries and their Parliament Names

The following is a list of Countries and their Parliaments. Candidates can read the table to prepare for their exams.

CountriesParliament of different Countries
AlbaniaPeople’s Assembly
AlgeriaNational People’s Assembly
AndorraGeneral Council
AngolaNational People’s Assembly
ArgentinaNational Congress
AustraliaFederal Parliament
AustriaNational Assembly
AzerbaijanMelli Majlis
BahamasGeneral Assembly
BahrainConsultative Council
BangladeshJatia Parliament
BelizeNational Assembly
BoliviaNational Congress
BotswanaNational Assembly
BrazilNational Congress
BritainParliament (House of Commons And House of Lords)
BruneiNational Assembly
BulgariaNarodno Sobranie
CambodiaNational Assembly
ChinaNational People’s Assembly
ComorosLegislative Council And Senate
Congo DemocraticRep. of the National Legislative Council
Costa RiceLegislative Council And Senate
CubaNational Assembly Of People’s Power
East TimorConstituent Assembly
EcuadorNational Congress
EgyptPeople’s Assembly
El SalvadorLegislative Assembly
EthiopiaFederal Council And House Of Representative
Fiji IslandsSenate & House Of Representative
FinlandEduskusta (Parliament)
FranceNational Assembly
GermanyBundestag (Lower House) & Bundesrat (Upper House)
Great BritainParliament
GreeceChamber Of Deputies
GuyanaNational Assembly
HungaryNational Assembly
IndonesiaPeople’s Consultative Assembly
IraqNational Assembly
IsraelThe Knesset
ItalyChamber Of Deputies And Senate
JordanNational Assembly
Korea(North)Supreme People’s Assembly
Korea(South)National Assembly
KuwaitNational Assembly
LabanonNational Assembly
LaosPeople’s Supreme Assembly
LesothoNational Assembly And Senate
LibyaGeneral People’s Congress
LuxembourgChamber Of Deputies
MadagascarNational People’s Assembly
MongoliaGreat People’s Khural
MontenegroFederal Assembly
MozambiquePeople’s Assembly
MyanmarPyithu Hluttaw
NepalFederal Parliament of Nepal
NetherlandsStates-General (Staten-General)
New ZealandParliament (House Of Representatives)
PakistanNational Assembly & Senate
Papua New GuineaNational Parliament
ParaguaySenate & Chamber Of Deputies
PhilippinesThe Congress
RomaniaGreat National Assembly
RussiaDuma & Federal Council
Saudi ArabiaMajlis Al Shura
South AfricaParliament
TurkeyGrand National Assembly
UruguayGeneral Assembly
UzbekistanOliy Majlis
VietnamNational Assembly
ZambiaNational Assembly

Parliament of India

The Indian Parliament is made up of two houses, the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha, as well as the President of India. It is also known as the People’s House because it represents Indians. Despite the fact that he is not a member of either house, the President is an important member of Parliament. As a result, the President has been assigned specific duties and responsibilities. The Constitution of India allows for a maximum of 552 members in the House (Initially, in 1950, it was 500). The house currently has 543 seats, which are filled by the election of up to 543 elected members.

The Rajya Sabha

The Rajya Sabha, or Upper House of Parliament, is a permanent body and is not subject to dissolution. However, one-third of the members retire every second year and are replaced by newly elected members. Each member is elected for a term of six years. The Vice President of India is the ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha. The Rajya Sabha can have a maximum of 250 members. The remaining members are chosen after the President nominates 12 members based on their achievements in literature, art, science, and social service. It now has a total of 245 members.

The Lok Sabha

The Lok Sabha, unlike the Rajya Sabha, is not a bicameral legislature. It is democratically elected by the public based on the ideology of universal adult franchises. It is also referred to as the lower House. The Lok Sabha has 550 members, 530 of whom are directly elected from the states and 20 from the UTs. Between 1952 and 2020, two seats in the Lok Sabha, India’s lower house of parliament, were reserved for members of the Anglo-Indian community. On the advice of the Government of India, the President of India nominated these two members.

The reservation of seats for Anglo-Indians in the Lok Sabha and State Legislative Assemblies was abolished by the 104th Constitutional Amendment Act. Through the 95th Amendment, 2009, the reservation for the Anglo-Indian community was extended until the year 2020. This provision was supposed to be in effect until 1960.

Sharing is caring!


Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!
download gms learning free app now